Playstation VR demo has 10 more games in US than Europe

The Playstation VR is launching in under a month and I, for one, am super excited to get my hands on it. Releasing on October 13th in the U.K. the PSVR will come bundled with a demo disc allowing players to trial 8 VR games straight out of the box.

For me this is very welcome news as most of the VR games look great but I’m sure their true measure will be how they play and feel and also how much (if any) motion sickness they cause. So come October 13th I will be booting up my PSVR, trying all of the demos and purchasing the games that impress me and leave me wanting more. I’ve decided to buy all PSVR games digitally as I imagine pulling off the headset and untangling from the wires to move over to the console and change discs between games could be a pain. Coupled with the fact that most of the VR games are likely to be shorter experiences, it makes sense to be able to simply jump between them from the sofa, presumably without having to remove the headset. Also, with the recent PlayStation 4 OS update to 4.0 which introduced folders, the obsessive part of me can rest peacefully, knowing that all of my VR games are safely tucked into one folder.

So what could mar this launch day gaming bliss? Just one thing: the fact that the US are getting 10 more demos on the bundled disc than Europe! There doesn’t seem to be a specific reason for the disparity but one can imagine it is down to publishing rights or differing release dates for the full games between territories. One or two extra demos is understandable but 10 is a bit excessive. I think that VR needs every help it can get to succeed so I can only hope they release the others at a later date for those not in the US.

The demo lineup is as follows, all territories get these 8 games:

  • PlayStation VR Worlds
  • Eve: Valkyrie
  • Tumble VR
  • Driveclub
  • Wayward Sky
  • Battlezone
  • Headmaster
  • Rigs

On top of these the US also get:

  • Resident Evil 7 Kitchen
  • Here They Lie
  • Allumette
  • Job Simulator
  • Until Dawn: Rush Of Blood
  • Gnog
  • Rez Infinite
  • Harmonix Music VR
  • Within
  • Thumper

Arguably, most of the ‘key’ games are included in both versions of the demo disc. For me these are: PlayStation VR Worlds, Eve: Valkyrie, Driveclub, Battlezone and Rigs. These are the games that I can definitely see myself purchasing if the demo confirms their quality as they seem to really show off what VR is capable of. However, missing the likes of Resident Evil 7, Job Simulator and Until Dawn is a big loss, especially with the latter as I’m very much undecided on whether to get it or not.

I’m still beyond excited for the PlayStation VR but because of the meagre demo offering I think that I, along with many others, might not be dropping money on so many games on launch day.

What do you think about the demo disc offerings, which games are you looking forward to trying? Let us know in the comments below.

Leave a Reply

